Home

The first Joint Meeting Brazil – Italy in Mathematics will take place in August 29 through September 02, 2016 at IMPA, the Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada, located near the Botanical Gardens in the city of Rio de Janeiro. The Joint Meeting aims:

  1. To promote acquaintance and scientific collaborations between Brazilian and Italian mathematicians;
  2. To explore opportunities to build partnerships among Brazilian and Italian academic and scientific institutions.

The program of the Joint Meeting will include both plenary lectures and special sessions (symposia), in any field of current research in Mathematics and its applications. It is anticipated that about 300 researchers from both countries will attend the Joint Meeting. The participation of young mathematicians (post-docs and students in the final stage of the PhD) is particularly welcome.

We are applying for support from research agencies in order to possibly cover part of local expenses during the Conference  for a few participants  unable to raise support elsewhere.

Scientific Committee

Liliane Basso Barichello (UFRGS, Porto Alegre, lbaric@mat.ufrgs.br)
Piermarco Cannarsa (Universita’ di Roma Tor Vergata, Roma,cannarsa@axp.mat.uniroma2.it)
Ciro Ciliberto (Universita’ di Roma Tor Vergata, Roma, cilibert@axp.mat.uniroma2.it) – co-chair
Giorgio Fotia (Universita’ di Cagliari, Giorgio.Fotia@crs4.it)
Claudio Landim (IMPA, Rio de Janeiro, landim@impa.br)
Maria José Pacifico (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, pacifico@im.ufrj.br)
Paolo Piccione (Universidade de São Paulo, piccione.p@gmail.com)
Mario Primicerio (Universita’ di Firenze, mario.primicerio@math.unifi.it)
Giovanni Russo (Universita’ di Catania, russo@dmi.unict.it)
Geraldo Nunes Silva (UNESP, São José do Rio Preto, gsilva@ibilce.unesp.br)
Aron Simis (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Recife, aron@dmat.ufpe.br) –co-chair
Carlo Toffalori (Universita’ di Camerino, carlo.toffalori@unicam.it)

Local Organizing Committee

Maria Jose Pacifico (Chair)
Isaia Nisoli (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro)
Samuel Senti (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro)
Antonio Nigro (Universidade Federal Fluminense)
Daniele Sepe (Universidade Federal Fluminense)
Carolina Araujo (IMPA-Rio de Janeiro)
Felipe Linares (IMPA-Rio de Janeiro)
Henrique Bursztyn (IMPA-Rio de Janeiro)